Summer Avenue

In 20 Years… March 15, 2011

Filed under: This and That — Amanda @ 11:59 am

My boss recently approached me and said something to me that made me realize that we are more alike than I originally thought.  She told me to go into business for myself.  She said that she doesn’t want me to wake up in 20 years and wish I had.

It was like she read my mind.  I have been thinking about this a lot lately.  When I first graduated college, I thought all I wanted was to get a good job with great benefits in a cubicle somewhere.  After teaching for 3 months (more on my teaching experience later), I thought I found what was the job of my dreams.  Don’t get me wrong, I work for a wonderful organization and I feel that I am paid fairly and the benefits are awesome!  After being at my job for almost 4 months, I realized I was way off. 

I find myself day dreaming about my hobbies, which realistically could provide an income comparable to what I have now if I wanted them to.  So that is my current goal: figure out how to turn my hobbies into a business so I can do what I love, not what I have to do. 

Have you thought about this, or better yet, done this?  I would love to hear your thoughts on this!

 

Leave a Reply

