Summer Avenue

Free Plants… Yes, Please March 30, 2011

Filed under: Gardening — Amanda @ 1:00 am

Driving around the past few days I noticed these blue/purple flowers hanging from everything.  Tony and I went to my grandparents’ house and I noticed that he had an old tree that we covered with those very same flowers.  My grandfather told me that they are Wisteria and that I should take some cuttings, so I did just that. 

I found a pair of clippers and went to the tree.  After defending myself from the giant bees, I had my cutting. 

Okay, so maybe it is more like a small tree.  The best part?  Didn’t. Cost. A. Dime.  I love free!

These flowers are beautiful and they smell wonderful!  They have a similar scent to Orange Blossom. 

Since I had to cut all of the flowers off for the cuttings to root, I made this very nice wisteria centerpiece.  (Moose decided that he liked these flowers and by the next day, we had Wisteria ALL over the house.  Maybe he just wanted to spread the sweet smell?)

Here are my cuttings.  I put them in this small pot by the front door so I don’t forget to water them.  I hope they take.  My plan is to build a trellis and have them cover the entire back of the house.  I guess I better grow fond of the giant bees.

I will keep you updated on the cuttings.  Have you had luck rooting Wisteria?

 

2 Responses to “Free Plants… Yes, Please”

  1. Brittany L Says:

    Hey, I don’t have any wisdom about Wisteria but when you come down for the 5K on Saturday you should most definitely take some of Justin’s tomato plants. He has too many and would like to part with a few or else they will be culled off. Keep it in mind. =)


Leave a Reply

